The Fate of the Disciples of Christ

Click to go to our Home Page








Original Twelve picked by Jesus:

         Peter, crucified upside-down in Rome c. AD 64.

         James, son of Zebedee was beheaded in AD 44, first of the Twelve to die (since the addition of Matthias)

         John, son of Zebedee, no biblical record of death, he is believed to have died of natural causes due to old age. Members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints believe that John was immortalized and he will live to see the Second Coming of Christ.[20]

         Andrew, Peter's brother, was crucified upon a diagonal or X-shaped cross.

         Philip was crucified in AD 54.

         Bartholomew (also known as Nathaniel) was flayed alive (skinned) and then beheaded; some sources locate his death at Derbend on the Caspian Sea.[21]

         Matthew killed by an axe in AD 60.

         Thomas was killed by a spear in Mylapore, Madras, India in AD 72.

         James, son of Alphaeus, beaten to death with a club after being crucified and stoned.

         Jude was crucified.

         Simon the Zealot was crucified in AD 74.

         Judas Iscariot, according to Matthew, hanged himself after betraying Jesus. In Acts, he is described as falling in a field and bursting open. Apologists explain this apparent discrepancy by presuming that he decayed on the tree resulting in a bloating with gas and a weakening of the skin. Then when he was let down from the tree he burst open upon impact.

Replacement for Judas Iscariot picked by the surviving eleven:

         Matthias, Judas' replacement, was stoned and beheaded.